Sign in to follow this  
Jaark

New player asking for advice and tips...

Hey everyone! 

I am new to FFXIV...atm I got the trial version and I wrote this post to ask you for some good advice and starter tips!  

IF it matters, yes im on PS4,  and I restarted to a conjurer. Also I just made it to level 6 of writing this...soo... 

Help a idiot out??

• Like 3

I mean, I am fairly new to this as well, but the best advice I can offer is to largely ignore sidequests.  Stick with the Main Story Quest (Icon with flames around it) as that's enough to get you exp, and the Unlock quests (Class quests and quests that unlock rewards/dungeons/features, quest Icon has a plus sign).  The side quests are.... pretty dull in this game, but you never actually need to do them.  Also... the game is not enormously alt friendly, but you can learn and level every class on a single character, so it doesn't shut you out at all.

• Like 3

Yeah,  I sort of deleted my first toon cuz while I play healer in most games...I did an archer, but I back out and went on to play conjurer.  I hope sometime later on I can pick up Archer as a side class for my guy...  but ty for the advice on quests cuz tbh...Ive been picking up....EVERYTHING!!

• Like 1

I re-started a little over a week ago now, and I'm pushing 50 on my Dragoon. Currently 47. Here's my advice.

Ignore all side quests, with the exception of the ones that are colored blue. The blue side quests unlock various things in game, like the ability to dye your gear, certain dungeons, palace of the dead, etc.

Keep on your Main Story Quest and Class Quests (class quests are every 5 levels). Keep up with your class hunting log and do Fates that are on the way when you are going about the MSQ. 

I went from 1-35ish just on MSQ and few fates, class quests and the lancer hunting log.

Also, do your daily roulette (aka dungeon) for the bonus xp. I also pop a food buff for the extra XP.